Friday, July 30, 2010

Miles Franklin Award 2010

In keeping with the previous 2 posts about Literary Award shortlists, here is another.
The winner of the 2010 Miles Franklin Award was announced on 22 June 2010.
The winner was Peter Temple for his book Truth. This was a bit of a controversial choice as he is more known as a Crime Writer. For more information about the winner have a look at the Miles Franklin Awards page

Two books on the Miles Franklin shortlist have also been nominated for the Prime Minister's Literary Award. Sadly I haven't read any of these titles, but Jasper Jones and Lovesong have been on my TBR list for about a year now.

The shortlist for the Award was:
Lovesong by Alex Miller  Allen & Unwin
The Bath Fugues by Brian Castro  Giramondo Publishing
Jasper Jones  by Craig Silvey  Allen & Unwin
The Book of Emmett by Deborah Forster  Random House
Truth by Peter Temple  Text Publishing
Butterfly by Sonya Hartnett  Penguin Group (Australia)

No comments:

Post a Comment